FORE Magazine

Top Menu

  • About Me
  • Contact Us
  • Home

Main Menu

  • Current Issue
  • Digital Book
  • Profiles
  • Sustainability
  • Travel
  • 19th Hole
  • Classic Course
  • FORE Her
  • More
    • Know the Rules
    • Handicap Hints
    • SCGA Junior
    • Where Are They Now?
    • News
    • Public Affairs
Sign in / Join

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account
Lost your password?

Lost Password

Back to login

logo

FORE Magazine

  • Current Issue
  • Digital Book
  • Profiles
  • Sustainability
  • Travel
  • 19th Hole
  • Classic Course
  • FORE Her
  • More
    • Know the Rules
    • Handicap Hints
    • SCGA Junior
    • Where Are They Now?
    • News
    • Public Affairs
Core MissionIn The ClubhouseKnow the RulesWinter 2025
Home›Core Mission›Embedded Ball

Embedded Ball

By Jimmy Becker
January 27, 2025
5051
2
Share:

Relief Under the Rules of Golf Explained

DURING THE WINTER SEASON, when days are shortened and the golf courses may be playing a bit softer or damp, it’s common for a golf ball to become embedded. This can lead to varying circumstances where you may or may not be granted free relief. Let’s learn more about this situation.

Definition

A ball is “embedded” when a player’s ball is in its own pitch-mark made as a result of the player’s previous stroke and where part of the ball is below the level of the ground (see main diagram). A ball does not necessarily have to touch soil to be embedded (for example, grass and loose impediments may be between the ball and the soil).

If it is determined that your golf ball is embedded, you are permitted to take free relief, as referenced by the diagram below. The reference point is the spot right behind where the ball is embedded, and then the player is entitled to a one-club-length relief area no nearer to the hole that is in the general area. A ball dropped in the relief area must come to rest in the relief area.

Quick Facts

● Rule 16.3 is the guiding rule involving a ball being embedded.

● Relief is only available under this Rule if the ball is embedded in the general area (except if it is embedded in sand in the general area).

● No relief for a ball embedded in a bunker.

● No relief for a ball embedded in a penalty area.

● A ball is not embedded if it is below the level of the ground as a result of anything other than the player’s previous stroke, such as when:

• The ball is pushed into the ground by someone stepping on it.

• The ball is driven straight into the ground without becoming airborne.

• The ball was dropped in taking relief under a Rule.

Hopefully this helps in determining if (1) your ball in play is embedded and (2) if you are entitled to free relief.

For Rules videos from Jay Roberts and the USGA, scan here:

Previous Article

Preservation by Organization

Next Article

Understanding Handicap

0
Shares
  • 0
  • +
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Jimmy Becker

Jimmy's career in golf administration began in 2004 as an intern with the SCGA and spent some time at the NCGA from 2005-2011. Since rejoining the SCGA in 2011, he helps administer SCGA, CGA and USGA qualifiers/championships, and is featured in the Rules Crew video series, teaching the Rules of Golf to SCGA members and its clubs. He is also in charge of the site procurement process for the Championships & Golf Operations department along with managing the exemption and Player of the Year programs. He has served as a Rules Official at numerous USGA National Championships and has achieved the highest level of rating on the PGA/USGA Rules Exam. A native Southern Californian, in his free time he enjoys hanging out with friends, playing sports and going to the beach.

Related articles More from author

  • Know the RulesSpring 2019

    Rules Mailbag: Our Rules Czars Answer Your Questions

    April 26, 2019
    By The Rules Crew
  • Core MissionFall 2024Handicap HintsIn The Clubhouse

    Great Expectations

    October 16, 2024
    By Kevin O'Connor
  • Core MissionPublic AffairsWinter 2024

    Strength in Numbers: Valuing Communities Over Dollars

    January 28, 2024
    By Craig Kessler
  • At The TurnProfilesWinter 2025

    Time Machine

    January 24, 2025
    By David Weiss
  • FoundationIn The ClubhouseWinter 2025

    It’s ‘Go’ Mode for The Maggie

    January 26, 2025
    By Tod Leonard
  • Core MissionIn The ClubhouseWinter 2025

    What’s in the Box?

    January 27, 2025
    By Richard Lowe

Recent Posts

  • At The TurnFeaturedSpring 2025Travel

    Irish Ayes

  • FeaturedIn The ClubhouseSCGA JuniorSummer 2025

    SCHOOL’S OUT

  • FeaturedIn The ClubhouseSummer 2025

    From Page to Screen

  • FeaturedIn The ClubhousePublic AffairsSpring 2025

    Doing More With Less

  • FeaturedSummer 2025

    Club Spotlight: The Rivalry

FALL 2025FeaturedIn The ClubhouseSCGA Junior

Crown Jewels

Norma García — González has led the way for L.A. County’s beloved golf courses, in good times and bad. It’s a good bet that a large majority of concertgoers who ...
  • PAIR of ACES

    By Scott Kramer
    November 4, 2025
  • Competition, Connection, Camaraderie… and Charity

    By Tom Mackin
    November 4, 2025
  • Raising Golfers

    By Tina Mickelson
    November 4, 2025
  • Cousin Klubs

    By Robert Earle Howells
    November 4, 2025
© 2016 FORE Magazine About Us | Contact Us | Advertise